Become a Friend of the Trust
Contact us

Suite of Six for String Quartet, Op. 81 (1975)

1. Introduction - Pavan - Interlude 1
2. Reel - Interlude 2
3. Andamento - Interlude 3
4. Air - Interlude 4
5. Moto perpetuo - Interlude 5
6. Sword dance - Postlude

Alan Bush's 'Suite of Six' is his fourth work for string quartet. It was commissioned by the BBC and received its first performance in December 1975.

Alan Bush says that in this Suite each movement employs one of the six scales in which English national music developed. He continues: "In the introduction these scales appear in the succession in which they occur in the movements; with the postlude this order is reversed. The interludes link the movements thematically and foreshadow the scale of the movement which is about to follow. Three of the movements are in varied dance rhythms, while titles indicate the contrasts in character of the remainder".

Music Home
Index of Works

Major Works
Wat Tyler
Men of Blackmoor
The Sugar Reapers
Joe Hill - The Man Who Never Died
Orchestral Work
Symphony No. 1 in C
Symphony No. 2 'The Nottingham Symphony'
Symphony No. 3 'The Byron Symphony' with Baritone Solo and Mixed Chorus
Symphony No. 4 - Lascaux Symphony
Dorian Passacaglia and Fugue
Piano Concerto
Violin Concerto
Chamber Music
Dialectic for String Quartet
Concert Piece for Cello and Piano
Lyric Interlude for Violin Solo with Piano Accompaniment
Three Concert Studies for Piano, Violin and Cello
Piano Music
Twenty Four Preludes
Choral Music
'The Winter Journey' - A Christmas Cantata for Soprano and Baritone Solo, Mixed Chorus, String Quintet and Harp
Solo Song
'Voices of the Prophets' - Cantata for Tenor and Piano
'The Freight of Harvest' - Song Cycle for Tenor and Piano
'Life's Span' - Song Cycle for Mezzo-Soprano and Piano
'Woman's Life' - Song cycle for Soprano and Piano